Skip Navigation Links
Home
FAQ
Child Abuse Form
Child Protective Services
Child Abuse Reporting Training

Statewide Abuse, Neglect and Exploitation Reporting System

The  Department of Family and Protective Services Seal This secure website is being provided for you to report suspicions of abuse/neglect of children when the suspected abuse/neglect took place in Tennessee. TCA 37-1-403 and TCA 37-1-605 law requires all persons to make a report when they suspect abuse, neglect or exploitation of children.

You will have the opportunity to request that we send you a follow up acknowledgement when your referral has been entered into our system. The e-mail address or, lacking e-mail information, the physical address you enter is the location we will send the acknowledgement. If the information you provide is not accurate, we will be unable to send you our system’s report identification number associated with the information you reported. If you have additional questions check out the FAQs page.

This reporting system is provided for your convenience to report instances of abuse or neglect that do not require an emergency response. An emergency is a situation where a child appears to face an immediate risk of abuse or neglect that could result in death or serious harm.

Therefore, you may use this reporting system to report priority 2 or 3 referrals but not priority 1 referrals. See DCS Policy 14.3, section E, for referral priority definitions. If you have any doubts regarding if your referral is an emergency, please call Central Intake instead of using this on-line referral application.

Contact 911 if the situation is a life-threatening emergency.

It may take up to 24 hours to process reports of abuse and neglect made through the web-based internet reporting process. If you believe the allegation of abuse/neglect/fatality you are reporting requires action in less than 24 hours, please contact The Department of Children's Service's Central Intake Division Child Abuse Hotline at 1-877-237-0004 or 1-877-54ABUSE (1-877-542-2873).

Also contact Central Intake Child Abuse Hotline at 1-877-237-0004 or 1-877-54ABUSE (1-877-542-2873) for the following situations:

  • the situation you are reporting is an abuse/neglect/child fatality emergency;
  • you prefer to remain anonymous;
  • you have insufficient data to complete the required information on the report;
  • the suspected abuse/neglect you are reporting occurred outside the state of Tennessee and you do not know how to contact the state where it occurred.
  • you are unsure if the report is imminent risk of harm
  • you do not want e-mail confirmation of your report

You may therefore use this reporting system to report injuries or risk of injuries that are not imminent, life threatening, that do not require immediate medical care or pose a low risk of harm to the child. See DCS Priority Response Definition Examples for examples of imminent risk of harm that should be immediately reported to Central Intake Child Abuse Hotline via telephone. If there is any doubt about whether the situation requires a Priority 1 (immediate) response or there is any imminent risk of harm/danger to the child, then telephone Central Intake @ 1-877-237-0004 or 1-877-54ABUSE (1-877-542-2873) immediately.

If the situation concerns a life threatening emergency, please contact 911 immediately.

If none of the above apply, please click on the following link to make a report:

Child Abuse Form
 
Copyright © State of Tennessee
The Official Web Site of the State of Tennessee